Churchill War Rooms
This secret bunker under a bombproof concrete slab is where Winston Churchill directed the British effort against the Nazis. It’s fascinating and has been left exactly as it was, including Churchill’s bedroom, where he slept for much of the war. It’s extraordinary that until the ’80s it remained an official government secret. Get the audio guide—you don’t want to miss a thing. Afterward, walk over to Inn the Park, right in St James’s Park, for lunch or a beer. It’s lovely. Real political anoraks might like to know that this is the park in which politician Oliver Letwin used to empty classified documents into bins until a newspaper rumbled him.
This is the bunker where English prime minister Sir Winston Churchill during world war two directed his actions against Hitler.
For history buffs and war enthusiasts this is a lesser known attraction - allow at least three hours to peruse the bunker, preserved as it was left the day Peace was declared, where Churchill oversaw WW2.
Among the most fascinating and evocative of London's historic sites is the perfectly preserved nerve-centre from which Prime Minister Winston Churchill directed the British military campaigns and the defence of his homeland throughout World War II. Their Spartan simplicity and cramped conditions…
The Churchill War Rooms is a museum in London and one of the five branches of the Imperial War Museum.
“Dean's Yard is built on the site of The Elms and the former monastery farmyard. Since the 18th century there have been three rows of trees and a central green here, but the high railings surrounding it were removed in 1967. The yard now features a number of large trees, including London planes, a red horse chestnut, a tulip tree, maple and sycamore. Smaller trees include silver birches and a medlar. The surrounding buildings are in an attractive ‘collegiate' style. The site is used by Westminster School as an occasional football pitch.”
“Commissioned by King Edward VII to commemorate Queen Victoria's death, and designed by Sir Aston Webb and completed in 1912, Admiralty Arch stands majestically at the North east end of The Mall. This Grade I listed curved stone building has three arches and links The Mall to Trafalgar Square, adjoining the Old Admiralty Building. A Latin inscription along the top reads: : ANNO : DECIMO : EDWARDI : SEPTIMI : REGIS : : VICTORIÆ : REGINÆ : CIVES : GRATISSIMI : MDCCCCX : (In the tenth year of King Edward VII, to Queen Victoria, from most grateful citizens, 1910) Admiralty Arch plays an important role on ceremonial occasions, with processions such as royal weddings, funerals, coronations and the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games passing through the central arch. The outer arches are used for vehicles and pedestrians.”
“The Duke of York Column is a monument in London, England, to Prince Frederick, Duke of York, the second eldest son of King George III. The designer was Benjamin Dean Wyatt. It is sited where Regent Street meets The Mall, a purposefully wide endpoint of Regent Street known as Waterloo Place and Gardens, in between the two terraces of Carlton House Terrace and their tree-lined squares. The three very wide flights of steps down to The Mall adjoining are known as the Duke of York Steps. The column was completed in December 1832 and the statue of the Duke of York, by Sir Richard Westmacott, was raised on 10 April 1834”
Point of Interest
“The Mall is a tree-lined royal road leading from Trafalgar Square to Buckingham Palace. The road is closed to traffic on Sundays, public holidays and for ceremonial events, including royal weddings, jubilee celebrations, parades and state visits.”